Humboldt County Assessor
The office of County Assessor is an elected position. The current Assessor is William "Jeff" Johnson.
The office is open 8:00 A.M. to 5:00 P.M. Monday through Friday except holidays.
Assessor's Office Phone Numbers
- Real Estate Appraisal (for tax purposes only): (775) 623-6312 or 6315
- Real Property Appraiser's E-mail: Monica ; Andy
- Business Equipment: (775) 623-6310
- Mobile Homes Valuation: 623-6310
- Exemptions: 623-6310
- Personal Property, Mobile Homes and Exemptions E-mail: Colleen
- Assessor E-mail: Jeff Johnson
- Deeds and Title Review E-mail: email@example.com
- Drafting Department: (775) 623-6318
- Drafting Department E-mail: Stephen
- Mailing Address 50 West Fifth Street Winnemucca, NV 89445
Appeal of Property Tax Assessments
Each County Assessor mails to each property owner a written notice of the value of his property in the month of December.
If you believe the valuation is incorrect, you may appeal to your local County Board of Equalization. The appeal must be filed no later than January 15. The County Assessor can provide you with the procedure to be followed.
Any taxpayer who appealed to the County Board of Equalization and does not agree with the determination, may file an appeal with the State Board of Equalization. The appeal must be filed not later than March 10th of each year. Contact the Department of Taxation for the procedure to be followed.
What the Assessor Does
The Assessor appraises (or establishes a value for) all property in the county which is
subject to taxation and sets the taxable value of each property.
The property is assessed at 35% of its current appraised or taxable value.
In addition to nearly 17,000 parcels of real property (land, homes, commercial buildings), the Assessor must value personal property of approximately 500 businesses from million dollar casinos to one person operations, over 5,000 mobile and manufactured homes, aircraft, and any other taxable personal property.
What the Assessor Does Not Do
The Assessor does not make the laws which affect property owners. The
tax laws are made by the Nevada Legislature.
The Board of County Commissioners sets the tax rate for the County. The guidelines for assessment are set by the Nevada Tax Commission and overseen by the Nevada Department of Taxation. The tax dollars on real property are collected by the Humboldt County Treasurer.
Is the Assessor Required to Receive Training?
Nevada Revised Statutes require that public appraisers must maintain a
valid appraiser certificate by completing a minimum of 36 hours of approved
training each year in order to accumulate a total of 180 hours within a
As a prerequisite, the Appraiser Certification Board requires that appraisers take a minimum of 120 hours in the category of "Basic Appraisal Courses." The other 60 hours may be accumulated by taking other approved courses realted to appraisal. After 180 hours are achieved, 36 hours of continuing education are required every three years.
Click for owners and assessed values of property in Humboldt County.